The War that Saved My Life

The War that Saved My Life_Cover ArtThe Rebecca Caudill Nominee list for 2017 was recently released, and I have been reading my way through it. If you’re not an Illinois teacher or librarian, you’re probably wondering what the Rebecca Caudill list is. You can find more information at the Rebecca Caudill website: Rebecca Caudill Award

I get so excited when this list is released because I know it will be filled with juvenile fiction (and nonfiction) treasures! Several of my favorite books to recommend to children and families are from past Caudill lists. There can only be one winner each year, but every book is worth reading, regardless of which one comes out on top.

The first nominee I decided to read this year was The War that Saved My Life, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. It takes place during WWII and tells the story of a ten-year-old girl who is born with a physical disability that keeps her from walking. She is mistreated by her mother on a daily basis, so when she learns that children are being sent away from London to live with families in the country, she decides she will do whatever it takes to get herself and her little brother away from their mother and away from the bombs. This was a captivating story about courage and second chances. It teaches that we can change our circumstances, if we’re willing to work hard and persevere.

I would recommend this book to children ages 9-12 who have an interest in history or historical fiction. Parents at the library often ask for good read aloud books, and I think this would make an excellent recommendation in that regard as well.

I sincerely hope you have a chance to read this one. It was a wonderful book!

Leave a comment