Spring Storytime: Book Babies

For the month of May, I’ve chosen the theme of Spring for my Monday morning Book Babies storytime. For Book Babies, I usually only read two to three books. The program mainly consists of songs, finger plays, and flannel stories. I have to give another shout out to Jbrary for their wonderful storytime planning sheet. You can find it here: Toddler Storytime Planning Sheet. I use this tool every week. It helps me organize my thoughts, and the sheets are also nice to have on file, so I can revisit previous weeks without reinventing the wheel.

The books I chose for this coming Monday are as follows:

  1. Mouse’s First Spring, by Laura Thompson
  2. Baby Bear Sees Blue, by Ashley Wolff
  3. Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?, by Bill Martin

These are the songs we will sing:

  1. We Clap and Sing Hello
  2. The Wiggle Song
  3. This is the Way We Clap Our Hands
  4. Little Raindrops Falling Down
  5. The Arms Go Up and Down
  6. I’m a Little Teapot
  7. The Wheels on the Bus
  8. Old MacDonald
  9. We Wiggle and Wiggle and Stop
  10. Zoom, Zoom, Zoom
  11. Bubble, Bubble, Pop!
  12. There Are Bubbles in the Air

The last two songs we sing each week are typically bubble related because we always conclude with bubble time. Babies love bubbles! It’s a wonderful element to incorporate into a baby storytime. And again, thanks Jbrary for your amazing YouTube channel! You are my heroes.

I’ll also be using my ducks story tube to help tell the story of The Five Little Ducks, and Brown Bear, Brown Bear will be told as a flannel board story.image

Just for Fun: Using Brown Bear, Brown Bear for my flannel story this week brought to mind a silly comic I stumbled across on Storytime Underground a couple of weeks ago:CDJ6WjkWYAEa5Gf

Enjoy the laugh, and enjoy your week, fellow storytimers!

2 thoughts on “Spring Storytime: Book Babies

Leave a Reply

