Story Tubes

I’m always looking for fun ways to add a visual element to my storytimes. I recently made these story tubes to use in my baby storytime. I found different variations on Pinterest. You could use story tubes for almost any song that counts down from five, such as Five Little Monkeys, Five Green and Speckled Frogs, etc. I started with frogs and ducks because my I’m using a Spring theme this month with the babies.

image

“Five green and speckled frogs

sat on a speckled log

eating the most delicious bugs.

One jumped into the pool

where it was nice and cool,

now there are four green speckled frogs.”

-by Raffi, on the album Singable Songs for the Very Young (1976)

image

“Five little ducks went out to play

over the hills and far away.

But when mama duck said, “Quack, quack, quack,”

four little ducks came running back.”

Quick Tip: If you’re ever running low on storytime inspiration, or you’re just looking for a few new songs to sing, I would suggest visiting the Jbrary YouTube channel: Jbrary – Five Green and Speckled Frogs. Lindsey and Dana have a number of wonderful songs to share, complete with lyrics and motions.

1 thought on “Story Tubes

Leave a comment